What does it do? It cleans up the URLs. So that means that things like “ref” attributes are deleted. If you visit Amazon, for example, it really only uses the direct product URL – without parameters that could potentially be used for tracking.
I also find the whole thing quite useful if you ever want to share links. Often I see that most people don’t notice when they share links with tracking parameters.